Data can be sensitive, this article will help you in understanding how Brightpearl dashboards can be configured so your collaborators see the data that is meaningful to them (and only this).
View versus Edit permissions
Two new permissions will be introduced in the staff settings :
By default all users will have a least the"Dashboards>View" permission for dashboards. Additionally, users with the "Accounts>Management Reports" permission get the "Dashboards>Edit" permission assigned by default when enabling the dashboards feature.
Here is a comparison of action that can be performed depending on permissions :
|View core dashboards|
|Filter core dashboards|
|Edit core dashboards|
|View dashboard list|
|View all dashboards|
|Authorise users to view a dashboard|
|Edit dashboard (Add widgets, clone widgets, remove widgets, filter widgets)|
Authorise users to see a dashboard
User with "Dashboards>Edit" permission are able to see all dashboards and authorise newly created dashboards to users with "Dashboards>Edit" permission. To do so, select the users (the list is pre-filtered to users with "Dashboards>View" but without "Dashboards>Edit") you want to be able to see a dashboard either at creation or when editing from the dashboard list.
If you don't select anyone in the viewers users list, only users with "Dashboards>Edit" permission will see the dashboard.
The sales and accounting preset core dashboards are only accessible to users with the "Sales>Sales reports" and "Accounts>Management Reports" permissions.