Sales statuses are used to represent the stage the order has reached in your sales cycle.
Lists and reports can be filtered to include or exclude orders of any status.
Statuses can be added or managed under Settings > Sales > Sales statuses.
Adding or editing order statuses
To add a new order status, click the 'Add a new status' button on the top right hand side of the page. You'll see a modal window:
The fields are as follows:
|Order status name||Name of the order status|
|If an order's not updated, remind me after X days||The number of sales status reminder days (see below).|
|Show orders on this status in your customer portal||
If set to 'yes', customers using the portal will be able to see their orders on this status.
If set to 'no', customers using the portal will not be able to view any of their orders on this status.
|Include in end-of-day batch post process||A defunct setting used with legacy EPOS.|
|When an order lands on this status, send an email to||
If an order is created on this status, or if the order's status is changed to this status, an email can be sent to an email address in order to alert a user (see below).
Emails can be sent to multiple email addresses if separated by commas, e.g. "email@example.com, firstname.lastname@example.org"
Note: Emails will only be sent if an order is created or updated within the Brightpearl UI (changes made using the API won't trigger an email).
|Additional text to be sent within internal emails||Text can be added to the automated emails using this field (see below).|
|Color||The color of the status when assigned to orders.|
Once the status has been created, any one of these fields can be amended by clicking the pencil icon next to the status under Settings > Sales > Sales statuses.
Note: In addition to order statuses, Brightpearl orders have 'allocation', 'fulfillment', 'payment' and 'shipment' statuses, which are updated automatically based on processes within the system. Order statuses should not be created to represent these stages as they can all be filtered on individually.
Similarly, it's not recommended to create order statuses to differentiate orders between channels. All orders usually go through a similar workflow once they have arrived from a channel, so to segment by channel, use the "channel" filter on reports and lists!
Sales workflow settings
Order statuses can be updated manually at any time, or using workflow rules found in Settings > Sales > Sales workflow:
- New order
When a new sales order is added by a user it will be assigned this status. This applies only to orders manually added by a user. Each channel can also have its own order status defined in the channel settings.
- Cancelled status
This status indicates that the order is cancelled. An order on this status will automatically be excluded from sales reporting.
- When a Quote/Order is emailed, update the status to
If an email is sent from the order the status will automatically be updated to this status.
- When a Quote/Order is marked as approved, update to
If an order is marked as approved, either by a user in back office, or by a customer via the web portal, this status will be automatically assigned.
- When invoiced, update the sale to
When the order is marked as invoiced the status will be automatically updated to this status.
- Create back orders on status
When items are split from the original sales order the new order will automatically be assigned this status. This status can also be manually assigned to an entire order without splitting.
Sales status reminder days
Remind days can be assigned to statuses. This enables Brightpearl to provide notifications when the status hasn't been updated for a period of time. Notifications will appear on the notification tool bar on the left hand side of the screen.
Email notifications for status changes
An email address can be assigned to a status so that each time an order is placed on that status someone is alerted via email. Custom text can be added to the status which will appear in every email.
If a status is no longer needed it should be hidden so that it can't be assigned to orders and is not available for filtering, but it does not require any orders already on this status to be changed. Use this option instead of deleting statuses which have already been used.
A status can be hidden by by clicking the pencil icon next to the status under Settings > Sales > Sales statuses and setting 'Hidden' to 'Yes':