Un-invoicing purchases

Un-invoicing can be used when corrections to an invoice are required, such as a tax code or account code.

Un-invoicing should be used only to make corrections, for example where an incorrect product, price, tax or account code was used. Refunds, returns or exchanges should be handled using a purchase credit.

Once the corrections have been made to the order will need to be re-invoiced. Re-invoicing will create new accounting with the current details using the same invoice reference provided.

A full history of the accounting changes are always retained when using the un-invoicing feature.

It is not possible to un-invoice batch purchase invoices - where one invoice was received against multiple purchase orders.

Enabling and giving permissions for un-invoicing

Before any sales or purchases can be un-invoiced, the feature will need to be enabled and the user permissions set.

How to enable un-invoicing

  1. Go to Settings > Company > Accounting: Options.
  2. Choose Yes for Allow un-invoicing?
  3. Save the changes.

How to give a user un-invoicing permissions

  1. Go to Settings > Staff/users > List staff.
  2. Find the user and click Permissions.
  3. Ensure the staff member has the following permissions:

    - Purchase > Add/edit

    - Purchase > invoice

    - Accounts > Corrections

  4. Save any changes.

    un-invoicing_permissions.png

Un-invoicing purchase orders and credits

Purchase orders and credits can be un-invoiced as long as the the journal date is in an open accounting period and the accounts have not been locked for that date.

Any existing payments or goods-in records will not be affected by un-invoicing. The items will remain received and the payment will remain on the order. The accounting for the goods-in movement(s) and payment(s) will not be changed or cancelled.

How to un-invoice a purchase

  1. Search for and open the purchase order/credit.
  2. Click the Un-invoice button at the top of the screen.
  3. Enter a reason for the changes and click "Un-invoice" to proceed.

    un-invoice-sale.png

What happens to the accounting?

Invoicing a purchase order creates a PI journal (PC for credits). When the order is un-invoiced this journal will be cancelled. A cancelled journal is not deleted but the values are written to zero and the account codes switched to 9999 Mispostings. These journals can still be found within the general ledger, and will all be visible on the corrections report, accessible from the reports menu. When un-invoicing it is a requirement to enter a reason for doing it, this reason can be seen within the cancelled journal and on the corrections report.

When the order is re-invoiced a new accounting journal is created (the same invoice reference can be used), the original accounting journal will remain in a cancelled state.

FAQs

Why isn't the un-invoice button showing?

The un-invoice button won't be displayed unless the feature is activated at Settings > Company > Accounting: Options.

Why is the un-invoice button greyed out?

The un-invoice button will be greyed out if the logged in user doesn't have permission to un-invoice.

Have more questions? Submit a request