If a purchase order is no longer needed, you may wish to cancel or delete it.
Cancelling a purchase order
If you want to keep a record of the order, you can create a new purchase order status for cancelled orders and place the order on that status.
Note that, unlike sales orders, there is no dedicated cancelled status for purchase orders that has special properties. The products will display as being on order unless received against the order or removed from it. You may wish to remove the rows and replace them with a description of what used to be on the order.
Deleting purchase orders
Purchase orders can be deleted as long as:
- No inventory has been marked as received on the order (even if inventory was unreceived, the order cannot be deleted)
- The invoice has not been received on the order
- No payment has been made against the order (payments can be reversed or cancelled)
It is not possible to undo the deletion of a purchase order. Once deleted, the purchase order is gone for good. If you do not wish to have missing orders then we recommend you move the order to a "cancelled" order status instead.
How to delete a purchase order
- Search for and open the purchase order.
- Click the drop-down arrow on the right-hand side of the Save Changes button.
- Select Delete.
Alternatively, orders can be deleted in batches using batch processing from Purchases > Recent Purchase Orders.
Select the purchase orders to be deleted, then click the "Delete" button above the list of purchases: