Un-invoicing sales & credits

Un-invoicing can be used to cancel the accounting and re-open a sales order or credit so that amendments can be made.

Un-invoicing should be used only to make corrections, for example where an incorrect product, price, tax or account code was used. Refunds, returns or exchanges should be handled using a sales credit by cloning the original sales invoice.

Once the corrections have been made to the order will need to be re-invoiced. Re-invoicing will lock the order and create new accounting with the current details, but using the same invoice reference.

A full history of the accounting changes are retained.

How to un-invoice a sales invoice or sales credit

  1. Search for and open the sales order/credit.
  2. Click the Un-invoice button at the top of the screen.

    uninvoice

  3. Enter a reason for the changes and click "Un-invoice" to proceed.

    uninvoice reason

What happens to the accounting?

Invoicing a sales order creates an SI journal (SC for credits). When the order is un-invoiced this journal will be cancelled. A cancelled journal is not deleted but the values are written to zero and the account codes switched to 9999 Mispostings. These journals can still be found within the general ledger, and will all be visible on the corrections report, accessible from the reports menu. When un-invoicing it is a requirement to enter a reason for doing it, this reason can be seen within the cancelled journal and on the corrections report.

When the order is re-invoiced a new accounting journal is created using the new information but the same invoice/credit number, the original accounting journal will remain in a cancelled state. Whilst un-invoiced the invoice/credit reference is reserved for this order and will not be used for any other order that may be invoiced/credited during this time of it being re-opened.

Does it matter if the order has already been shipped/paid?

No, any existing payments or shipping records will not be affected by un-invoicing. The items will remain shipped and the payment will remain on the order. The accounting for the shipment(s) and payment(s) will not be changed or cancelled.

Who can un-invoice?

Only staff/users with the relevant permissions are able to un-invoice. These permissions are:

  • Ability to add/edit sales
  • Ability to make accounting corrections

un invoicing permissions

When is it not possible to un-invoice?

It is not possible to un-invoice when:

  • It contains receipts/payments that are bank matched.
  • It contains receipts/payments that are bank reconciled.
  • The journal date is before the accounting lock date.
  • The journal date is in a closed accounting period.
  • When there is a related drop-ship note (i.e. a drop-ship purchase order cannot be un-invoiced).
Have more questions? Submit a request

1 Comments

  • 0
    Avatar
    Yogesh A

    What happens to the Inventory ?

Please sign in to leave a comment.