Un-invoicing sales

Un-invoicing can be used when corrections to an invoice are required, such as a tax code or account code.

Un-invoicing should be used only to make corrections, for example where an incorrect product, price, tax or account code was used. Refunds, returns or exchanges should be handled using a sales credit by cloning the original sale.

Once the corrections have been made to the order will need to be re-invoiced. Re-invoicing will create new accounting with the current details using the same invoice reference.

A full history of the accounting changes are always retained when using the un-invoicing feature.

Enabling and giving permissions for un-invoicing

Before any sales or purchases can be un-invoiced, the feature will need to be enabled and the user permissions set.

How to enable un-invoicing

  1. Go to Settings > Company > Accounting: Options.
  2. Choose Yes for Allow un-invoicing?
  3. Save the changes.

How to give a user un-invoicing permissions

  1. Go to Settings > Staff/users > List staff.
  2. Find the user and click Permissions.
  3. Ensure the staff member has the following permissions:

    - Sales > Add/edit

    - Sales > invoice

    - Accounts > Corrections

  4. Save any changes.

    un-invoicing_permissions.png

Un-invoicing sales orders and returns

Sales orders and returns can be un-invoiced as long as the the journal date is in an open accounting period and the accounts have not been locked for that date.

Any existing payments or shipping records will not be affected by un-invoicing. The items will remain shipped and the payment will remain on the order. The accounting for the shipment(s) and payment(s) will not be changed or cancelled.

How to un-invoice a sale

  1. Search for and open the sales order/credit.
  2. Click the Un-invoice button at the top of the screen.
  3. Enter a reason for the changes and click "Un-invoice" to proceed.

    un-invoice-sale.png

What happens to the accounting?

Invoicing a sales order creates an SI journal (SC for credits). When the order is un-invoiced this journal will be cancelled. A cancelled journal is not deleted but the values are written to zero and the account codes switched to 9999 Mispostings. These journals can still be found within the general ledger, and will all be visible on the corrections report, accessible from the reports menu. When un-invoicing it is a requirement to enter a reason for doing it, this reason can be seen within the cancelled journal and on the corrections report.

When the order is re-invoiced a new accounting journal is created using the new information but the same invoice/credit number, the original accounting journal will remain in a cancelled state. Whilst un-invoiced the invoice/credit reference is reserved for this order and will not be used for any other order that may be invoiced/credited during this time of it being re-opened.

FAQs

Why isn't the un-invoice button showing?

The un-invoice button won't be displayed unless the feature is activated at Settings > Company > Accounting: Options.

Why is the un-invoice button greyed out?

The un-invoice button will be greyed out if the logged in user doesn't have permission to un-invoice.

Have more questions? Submit a request