Cancelling and deleting sales orders

Sales orders can be cancelled and even deleted as long as they are not paid, fulfilled or invoiced. When an order cannot be cancelled a sales credit is used to process a return.

Cancelling orders

Sales orders can be cancelled as long as it is not marked as paid, fulfilled or invoiced. If the order has been part processed steps can be taken to reverse the processes to allow cancellation:

  • Paid

    If the order has been paid or part paid a reverse payment can be entered to set the order back to unpaid.

  • Fulfilled

    When a sales order is fulfilled it creates goods-out notes. Goods-out notes which have not been shipped can be deleted, this will unfulfil the sales order allowing it to then be cancelled. Even if the goods-out note has been printed, picked and packed those steps can be undone in order to enable deletion.

    If a goods-out note has been shipped it is not possible to reverse fulfilment and the order must be completed by invoicing. The cancellation will need to be processed as a return to bring the items back into stock. If the original order was paid a refund is recorded on the sales credit. If no payment was taken, the sales invoice and credit should be matched on the customer payment allocation screen to mark both as cleared.

  • Invoiced

    Invoiced orders should be handled by creating a sales credit. Although it is possible to un-invoice this feature is intended only for making corrections with the aim of re-invoicing. If an order is un-invoiced and then cancelled it will cause an invoice number to be skipped. This maybe identified as "missing" by an accountant or auditor. Please seek advice from your accountant. 

Cancelled orders are excluded from sales reports by default.

How to cancel an order 

Cancelling sales orders requires a specific sales order status to be created and defined at the "cancelled" status in the sales workflow at Settings > Sales settings > Sales workflow.

  1. Search for and open the order.
  2. Update the order status to the “cancelled” status.

Deleting orders

Deleting an order will completely remove any record of it. It is not possible to undo deletion of an order. An order can be deleted as long as it is not paid, fulfilled or invoiced.

If an order from an integrated sales channel is deleted, it may redownload, so should be cancelled directly on the sales channel.

How to delete an order

  1. Go to Sales > Recent Sales/Quotes.
  2. Use the filters to search for the order or orders to be deleted.
  3. Use the checkboxes to select the order or orders to be deleted.
  4. Click the Delete button.

Re-using order numbers

The next order reference can be reset in Sales Settings. If the most recent order(s) have been deleted, the next order reference can be reset so that no order numbers are skipped.

Have more questions? Submit a request