Merging contacts

You may encounter a scenario where a contact has been entered into the system twice. Perhaps they placed two orders using different email addresses, or accidentally filled in a smart form twice.

Brightpearl allows you to merge these contacts, combining all the information onto one contact record, including orders, notes and other history.

Merging (de-duping) contacts

When contacts are merged, the "target" contact is the record retained.

The record merged into them is completely deleted and will have no record or history remaining.

As much of the second contact's details as possible and all their related records, such as orders and financial history, will be transferred to the target contact. No contact details on the target contact will be overwritten - so if, for example, each contact has a different lead source, the one assigned to the target contact will be retained and the second contact lead source lost in the merge.

Where additional fields are available, such as email addresses, the next available field will be used so both contact's details are retained.

All tags will also be retained in the merge.

The following data is moved across:

  • Orders
  • Secondary contacts (when the merged contacts are part of a company)
  • CRM events
  • Standard notes (except for emails from the Brightpearl Mailstore application)
  • Accounting journal entries
  • Linked projects
  • Saved files
  • Custom field data
  • Email addresses
  • Telephone numbers

How to merge contacts

  1. Search for the contacts to be merged by going to Customers or Vendors (suppliers) > List all. Filter the reports as required.
  2. Once the contacts are listed, make sure the"target" contact (the one you want to keep and transfer everything over to) is at the top of the list. You can change the sort order of the list by clicking on any of the column headings.
  3. Select the contacts by selecting the checkbox next to each. You can only merge two contacts at a time.
  4. Click the "Merge" button.

    merge contacts

  5. You will be asked to confirm the action. Click OK to continue.

Warning: Merging deletes the non-target contact after transferring the data to the target contact. It cannot be undone.

Have more questions? Submit a request